Old Photographs & Drawings of Chester
Some Views of the Town Hall (or Market) Square
Town Hall Square and the Market Hall in June 1967
On the left we see a fascinating view of Chester Market Square as it appeared sometime during the early years of the 20th century- a businesslike place, "poor but proud", where shawl-wrapped ladies are seen attending their humble market stalls.
Faintly in the distance may be glimpsed Folliot House, formerly the home of the great architect Thomas Harrison, which, though now converted to offices and closely hemmed-in by other commercial premises, remains with us today. This end of the square is today dominated by Harry Weedon's handsome Odeon Cinema of 1936- albeit, for the moment at least, closed and boarded up.
The 300 year old Coach & Horses public house may be seen on the far left of both pictures- now re-open after an extensive makeover under the new name of The Coach House- after which in the modern photograph is the elaborately-moulded terracotta and red brick facade of Chester Library, which had been built in 1913 to a design by Philip Lockwood for the Westminster Coach and Motor Car Works, to house their coachbuilding workshops and motor showroom. It was rebuilt in 1981-4, retaining the original facade, to become the new home of the library, relocated from its original premises in St. John Street.